Yo Teach! a nice alternative to Today’s Meet

I was very disappointed last year to see Today’s Meet disappear. This chatroom or back channel option was very useful in class with students during reading time. The students could ask their questions quietly about things they did not understand in the text or on vocabulary words using their devices and other students could still concentrate.

I really liked how students helped each other out and collaborated with comprehension questions and vocabulary. It allowed me to see what I needed to review with students as well.

Yo Teach!, which I have not yet tested with my students, seems like a great replacement to Today’s Meet. It even has extra features like muting or blocking a student which will help with classroom management issues. The sharing of images options is also great since it allows students to define a vocabulary very quickly. I will look into this website for my next reading class.

Here is an interesting article from the website freetech4teachers.com that presents a quick video on how to use this tool.

https://www.freetech4teachers.com/2018/09/how-to-use-yo-teach-to-create-classroom.html

 

Share Button

A really useful background!

Do you know Classroom Screen?

Classroom Screen is a computer background that is very simple to use and can be very useful for teachers. It allows you to choose a beautiful looking background and add various functions for classroom management.  

  • You can choose the language you want it to be in so it can be used in ESL, English language arts but also in French and Spanish classes!
  • It offers many background images and even animated images
  • By adding our list of students, it has a random selection tool that can be used to select a student.
  • By linking it to a microphone, it allows students to see the level of noise in the classroom.
  • It can project a QR code for students to quickly download a document or load a webpage.
  • A drawing or text box allows you to add information
  • A pictogram tool lets students know if they are expected to work alone, in silence or in groups.
  • A traffic light tool can be used for behaviour management or to manage the level of noise in the classroom
  • A timer allows you to display how long students have to complete an activity.
  • And a clock allows you to display time and even today’s date!

Teachers can personalize the background by selecting what fits their needs. A really nice and simple tool to help with classroom management:)

and, it’s free:)

https://classroomscreen.com/

Share Button

An activity to start off the year: creating avatars

I use a lot of different websites that ask students to create a profile. Many websites offer the possibility to add an image. I don’t really like to have my students’ pictures all over the internet and that is why I invite them, during one of my first classes with them, to create an avatar and to use it as their profile picture.

A lot of free avatar creation websites are available on the web. My favourite is, but to create your avatar, you need to download an app and therefore need some type of mobile device… which is not available to all of us. Their images are very nicely done and very useful, however. I use my Bitmoji and the Chrome extension regularly. I will come back to this in a later blog post.

*Careful: Bitmoji offers avatars with text and contexts that can sometimes be inappropriate to a younger audience. I do not recommend it for younger students but will let you judge on the maturity and appropriate age of your students.

The websites  https://avatarmaker.com/  and https://mybluerobot.com/ both allow students to create and download free avatars. They are very easy to use.

Once students have created and downloaded their avatars, I invite them to add to a collaborative presentation. If a collaborative presentation option is not available to you, you could simply cut and paste the images your students will share with you in your own presentation (although I always prefer to have the students work more than me… but I do understand that sometimes, some tools are not available to teachers).

Here is the presentation that I use with my students in English as a second language, secondary 3. Feel free to modify it and translate it as necessary.

Finally, a very simple activity that is a lot of fun is to have students try to guess who is who by looking at all of the avatars.

Students really appreciate this activity.

Share Button

Google Chrome extension: Palette Creator

A nice and useful find: Palette Creator!

I had the chance to discover this little tool during a presentation at ISTE. It is very simple to use:

Step 1 : Download the tool on the Chrome web store and install: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/palette-creator/oolpphfmdmjbojolagcbgdemojhcnlod

Step 2: choose an image or picture

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, click right to see the Palette Creator option appear. You can select how many colours you want. And there you go!

 

 

 

 

Thanks to the colour codes, you can select colours that will work with your chosen image. Websites like Canva allow you to choose the colour of the fonts you are using or the colours of images or background with the colour numbers. A nice easy way to become a graphic artist!

Share Button

La version Beta de Google Classroom

Aujourd’hui je vous propose deux vidéos sur le nouveau Google Classroom.

La version Beta du nouveau Google Classroom est disponible depuis quelques semaines et la nouvelle version officielle devrait sortir très bientôt (et avant la rentrée)

Dans ce premier vidéo je vous présente l’interface du nouveau Google Classroom et mes impressions.


View on YouTube

Dans ce deuxième vidéo, je vous présente l’outil de correction des travaux qui a beaucoup changé.


View on YouTube

Pour en savoir plus, Alice Keeler (en anglais seulement) est LA référence. Voici donc des liens qui pourraient vous intéresser:

Taking a Peek at the New Google Classroom

NEW! Google Classroom Comment Bank

Share Button

Master the Screencast: What I have learned

I already adore Screencastify and I have been using for two years now. I started out with the lite (free) version but quickly moved on to the paid version since it offered more possibilities and more recordings.

Summer is always a time for me to reflect and learn (and yes, to relax a bit and enjoy the weather). I discovered this one-hour online course from Matt Miller and thought I would sit and watch to see what I could learn about the tool I already used and liked!

Here are some of the things I learned and will apply.

Time: I was not aware that you could add a timer to your recording. I will be using this option for students. I know they will appreciate following the timer to see how long they have left to watch but also for them to more easily go back and fort in the recording.

Editing options: I have been recording my videos in one take. If I did not like it, I started over. I will look into the cropping options but also the zoom in option which may be interesting in giving feedback or instructions for students. I also did not know you could merge videos together which offers new possibilities.

Sharing on Google Classroom: In one of the videos about sharing your video, Matt Miller takes us through the Google Classroom procedure of sharing. I originally thought that you could only share to an entire class but as I watched him go through the process, I could see that you could send the video directly to a student. In the past, I used to copy and paste the link to my feedback video in the comments of the assignment and many students were unable to find it. I made a video to show them how but still, some students struggled. Next year, I will share the video as an assignment. This way, the video will show up in the stream of the student and they will have to mark it as complete after watching it. This will make it easier for them to find it but also, will let me know who watched it.

Turning videos into animated gifs: I love gifs and find them amusing. But they can also be very helpful to show something quickly (where to find a file or where to click, for example). By recording your screen, you can then save the file as an animated gif to share as an image. No need to navigate to any other website for this! Neat!

💡 Tips and tricks: if you want to start over, don’t press stop but the re-record button. If you press stop, the video will load and become a file that you will then have to delete. By using the restart or re-record button it simply starts over. It will also avoid you having lots of little ”mistake” files in your drive.

Shortcuts: I will definitely try this one and try to learn to use the shortcuts to be faster and more efficient. This will also make the quality of my videos better since students will not have to watch my mouse all over their screen when I need to do something.

Some of my favourites to try out:

  • Alt (option) + Z: to delete everything you have written on the whiteboard
  • Alt (option) + R: to start or stop the recording
  • Alt (option) + T: to hide the toolbar or make it appear

Different ways to use Screencastify:

  • Instructional videos (useful for parents AND students and could be used with substitute teachers too!).
  • Feedback videos (instead of the red marks all over a page!!!).
  • Parent communication (let them know what is going on in class, replace your newsletter with a video)
  • Digital parent-teacher conferences
  • Professional development (consider sharing your expertise and posting tutorials, presentations, etc.)
  • Replace oral presentations (have students create a video presentation using Google Slides or other presentation tools and record themselves)
  • Create stop motion videos with Google Slides and then record them.
  • Have students create video reflections using the webcam recorder
  • Create a walking tour with Google Street view.
  • Upload your Screencastify videos to Flipgrid.
  • Upload your Screencastify videos to Edpuzzle to create interactive video lessons.
  • Upload your Screencastify videos to Seesaw.

Want to check out the online course and learn more?

https://www.screencastify.com/course/master-the-screencast/

 

 

 

 

Share Button

Flippity: A Google add-on to discover

Flippity is a free add-on that adds to Google Sheets. You can download it for free here.

Flippity

This Google Sheet add-on (Sheets is the equivalent of Excel) allows you to create all sorts of games and tools for your students. Simple to use, it allows you to share the documents with students or even print them.

Here are some of my favourites:

  • the hangman game to review vocabulary
  • the flashcard option
  • the Jeopardy type quiz to review while having a little bit of fun
  • the Random Name Picker to select students in a fun way
  • the Wordseach and Crossword puzzle option to review vocabulary or have students create their own.
  • the Bingo game to review vocabulary

You do not need extensive knowledge of Sheets to use this tool. I love Google Sheets and Excel. I realize they are scary because they look like math and programming but you should not be scared! They offer lots of possibilities, even to second language teachers like me. 😉

 

Share Button

Emojis in the classroom?

I was unable to attend this presentation in Chicago at ISTE 2018 but the author of this blog generously shared his findings and presentation.

I am now sharing this article with you as well but also what I will try out in class. As an ESL teacher, I see lots of possibilities but also see possibilities for my other colleagues as well.

My favourites:

https://emojiscavengerhunt.withgoogle.com/

This game is played on a mobile device and asks students to quickly find the object that is named and place it in front of the camera. The artificial intelligence involved will determine if the article is the right one and if it is the case, show the matching emoji. The game is in English so it’s a great way to review vocabulary and have fun!

https://ifaketextmessage.com/

This site is not necessarily an emoji website but offers many possibilities in using them. It allows students to create a fake conversation that appears on fake mobile phone image. I see many possibilities with literature when students could be asked to imagine a text conversation. Students could also add to a story by adding a technology aspect to their writing. I will also check out how I can use this website as an exit ticket. I may ask students to imagine the conversation that would have followed what we have just done in class.

http://byrdseed.com/emoji/

This website generates random emojis that can be used as writing prompts. It can generate up to 280 emojis at a time! A teacher could project this site or students could use it independently.

https://emojitranslate.com/

This website allows students to type a text and see it transformed with emojis. Students could then send that version to another student and see if the text is still understood!

To introduce emojis, I created this presentation that I am sharing with you. Please note that the text included is not mine and comes from the article mentioned in the introduction and that the source is also cited on the last slide of the presentation.

 

Share Button

No Zero Policy: My personal reflections

I recently came across this article from a great website teachers should check out: Edutopia

Edutopia had sent out a debate question on social media asking teachers what they thought of No Zero policies. Here in Quebec, it is also an issue. Urban Legends that say the ministry’s program says that zeros are not possible or that a grade cannot be lower that a certain percentage have some teachers upset and saying that we are creating a generation of lazy, entitled students.

Photo by David Pennington on Unsplash

Zeros were no big deal when I was student. Well, they were to my parents if I got one but I don’t remember any student or their parents going to the principal’s office for getting a zero. After all, if a student did not complete the work, that’s what they deserved… or was it?

The first question is ask is why we grade in the first place. The objective of any evaluation is to see if a student has reached the objectives of a task, developed a competency or acquired the taught knowledge. The grade itself is based on a rubric or evaluation grid of some sort with specific criteria linked to each letter or number. Giving a grade a not a punishment for not getting the work done… but what CAN be done when the work is not completed.

When I started teaching, I applied the same rules I had seen as a student and gave zeros…but it did it not always feel right. There were always exceptions that made me feel like giving a zero was not at all the human thing to do. I have seen students struggle with family life situations, having to testify in court agains a parent on the day an assignment was due. I have seen students battle depression and just not be up to it… Adults would take a leave of absence from work, yet these students came in and were expected to battle depression or anxiety and still perform. An adult battling these issues would get a doctor’s note and would be prevented from being fired (at least where the law is respected and human compassion is present). Yet it was ok to ”fire” this student with a zero?

The equity argument always comes up: but other students had to do the work and hand it in on time. The equity argument can easily be answered by: and do the other students have the same issues to deal with? Students are not the sum of  a list of assignments. They are children and teenagers developing. If a competency is not achieved, teachers need to figure out why and find a way to help them.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

It can be frustrating when a student has the potential, is totally capable but is not doing the work. That’s when other methods should come into place… but grade as a punishment? Fairness is a tricky thing.

In my English as a second language classes, I have students who come in and already speak English. They had parents who spoke English or English speaking family in the States or Ontario and my English class is very easy… Should I give them a zero if they don’t make an effort for an assignment?  Would that be representative of their competency in English? Or should I take a look at how I can differentiate the task to motivate them?

I love this quote at the end of the Edutopia article and it speaks to me. I teach humans after all… not content, not English as a second language really… I teach students and I want them to like what I teach them and I want them to succeed…Giving a zero? It’s possible… but hopefully a last resort!

“If you hand me an essay that’s really lousy, do I say ‘F, do better next time,’ or do I say ‘I’m not going to grade this. I expect a much higher quality of work from you. I wrote comments on it. Come to my room at lunchtime, and we’re going to work on it together, and then I need you to turn it in next week’,” Duncan said.

Share Button

ISTE Discovery: Factitious

http://factitious.augamestudio.com/#/

At the ISTE 2018 convention in Chicago, I discovered a neat little website that teaches students to recognize fake news. The game on the site is very simple, after reading a text and checking out the source, students need to vote whether the text is fake or not.

As an ESL teacher, I see lots of possibilities! The text could be projected and read to students and students could vote as a class. With multiple devices, students could be placed into groups and could discuss and come to a consensus before voting. Students could also take time individually to read and then vote.  Since the website works directly on the web, it works with any device. A great way to teach students reading strategies but also to help them acquire 21st century skills such as critical thinking!

 

Share Button

Yo Teach! Une belle alternative à Today’s Meet

J’étais bien déçue l’an dernier de voir le site Today’s Meet disparaître. Cette option de chat ou de back channel m’était utile en classe avec les élèves lors de la lecture de textes ou de romans. Les élèves y posaient silencieusement leurs questions de compréhension ou de vocabulaire à l’aide de leur appareil numérique et la concentration de tous n’était pas dérangée.

De plus, j’aimais beaucoup voir l’entraide entre les élèves et voir leurs questions me permettait de voir quels étaient les problèmes de compréhension de l’histoire du livre ou du texte et les difficultés au niveau du vocabulaire.

L’option Yo Teach! que je n’ai pas encore testé avec les élèves, semble être un bon outil de remplacement. On y trouve même des options supplémentaires comme l’option de retirer ou de bloquer temporairement un élève ce qui facile la gestion de classe. De plus, l’option d’ajouter des images aidera grandement pour l’explication de mots de vocabulaire. Je vais donc explorer ce nouveau site attentivement.

Voici un article du site freetech4teachers.com qui présente une vidéo intéressante sur comment utiliser l’outil. La vidéo est en anglais.

https://www.freetech4teachers.com/2018/09/how-to-use-yo-teach-to-create-classroom.html

 

Share Button

Un fond d’écran bien pratique

Connaissez-vous Classroom Screen?

Il s’agit d’un fond d’écran bien simple qui peut être très pratique en classe. Il vous permet de mettre un fond d’écran joli et d’y ajouter des fonctions.

  • On peut choisir la langue d’affichage
  • Il offre plusieurs images intéressantes et même des images animées
  • En ajoutant notre liste d’élèves, un outil de sélection de noms d’élève peut être utilisé
  • Un outil permet aux élèves de voir s’ils parlent trop fort (il faut synchroniser avec un micro pour que ça fonctionne)
  • Il est possible d’afficher un code QR pour que les élèves téléchargent rapidement un document ou se dirigent vers une page web
  • Un outil dessin ou texte affiche une boîte ou vous pouvez ajouter des informations
  • Un pictogramme vous permet de rappeler aux élèves qu’ils doivent travailler en silence ou en équipe
  • Un outil de panneau de signalisation peut être utilisé pour la gestion des comportements ou pour gérer le niveau de bruit
  • Un outil de minuterie vous permet d’afficher le temps restant à une activité
  • Et une horloge vous permet d’afficher l’heure et même la date de la journée!

Toutes ces options sont au choix de l’enseignant et permettent de personnaliser votre fond d’écran à vos besoins. Un bel outil simple pour gérer efficacement sa classe 🙂

En plus, c’est gratuit 🙂

https://classroomscreen.com/

Share Button

Une activité de début d’année: créer son avatar

J’utilise plusieurs sites avec mes élèves qui demandent de se créer un profil. Plusieurs sites offrent la possibilité d’ajouter une image. Je n’aime pas beaucoup que les photos des élèves se retrouvent un peu partout et c’est pour cela que je les invite, dès les premiers cours, à se créer un avatar et à utiliser celui-ci comme photo de profil.

Il existe plusieurs sites gratuits de création d’avatars. Mon préféré est Bitmoji, mais il requiert l’utilisation d’une application et donc d’appareils mobiles, ce qui n’est pas disponible pour tous. Par contre, il offre de beaux graphiques, bien pratiques. Je me sers de mon Bitmoji et de son extension Chrome régulièrement. Je reviendrai sur ses utilités dans un prochain billet de blogue.

*attention: Bitmoji offre des avatars avec du texte et des contextes qui n’est pas toujours approprié pour des jeunes enfants. Je ne le recommande donc pas avant une certaine maturité de vos élèves disons…) À vous de juger.

Les sites https://avatarmaker.com/ et  https://mybluerobot.com/ permettent tous les deux de créer des avatars gratuitement et de les télécharger. Ils sont faciles à utiliser.

Lorsque les élèves ont terminé leur avatar, je les invite à les déposer dans la présentation collaborative suivante. Si l’option de collaborer n’est pas disponible pour vous, vous pourriez tout simplement faire des copié-collé dans la présentation des images envoyées par vos élèves (je préfère de loin l’option de faire travailler les élèves plus que moi, mais je comprends que parfois, les outils ne sont pas au rendez-vous.

Je vous parage ici la présentation que j’utilise en anglais langue seconde de 3e secondaire avec mes élèves. Vous pouvez la modifier à votre goût et la traduire au besoin.

Par la suite, une activité bien simple et ludique est d’essayer de deviner les noms qui se cachent derrière les avatars.

Les élèves apprécient beaucoup cette activité!

Share Button

Google Chrome extension: Palette Creator

Petite découverte bien utile: Palette Creator!

C’est lors d’une présentation ISTE fort intéressante sur la mise en page que j’ai eu la chance de découvrir cet outil. C’est très simple.

Étape 1: télécharger l’application et l’ajouter à notre navigateur Chrome: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/palette-creator/oolpphfmdmjbojolagcbgdemojhcnlod

Étape 2: choisir une image ou une photo

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finalement, il suffit de cliquer à droite pour sélectionner l’option Palette Creator.  On sélectionne combien de couleur on veut et voilà!

 

 

 

 

Grâce aux codes de couleur, nous pouvons alors agencer le tout pour tout soit harmonieux. Des outils tels que Canva permettent de choisir la couleur de notre écriture et la couleur des images ou arrière-plans avec un numéro. Une belle façon de faire de la mise en page!

Share Button

La version Beta de Google Classroom

Aujourd’hui je vous propose deux vidéos sur le nouveau Google Classroom.

La version Beta du nouveau Google Classroom est disponible depuis quelques semaines et la nouvelle version officielle devrait sortir très bientôt (et avant la rentrée)

Dans ce premier vidéo je vous présente l’interface du nouveau Google Classroom et mes impressions.


View on YouTube

Dans ce deuxième vidéo, je vous présente l’outil de correction des travaux qui a beaucoup changé.


View on YouTube

Pour en savoir plus, Alice Keeler (en anglais seulement) est LA référence. Voici donc des liens qui pourraient vous intéresser:

Taking a Peek at the New Google Classroom

NEW! Google Classroom Comment Bank

Share Button

Ce que j’ai appris: cours en ligne sur Screencastify

J’aime déjà beaucoup Screencastify et je l’utilise depuis deux ans déjà. J’ai commencé avec la version lite (gratuite), mais rapidement, je me suis payé la version premium puisque celle-ci offre encore plus de possibilités et offre plus de vidéos par mois.

L’été est pour moi un temps de réflexion et d’apprentissage (oui oui, je relax aussi et je profite de la belle température). J’ai découvert ce cours d’une heure, gratuite, offert par Matt Miller et je me suis dit que je pourrais en apprendre un peu plus sur cet outil que j’utilise déjà.

Voici quelques-unes des choses que j’ai découvertes et que je vais appliquer en classe cette année.

Minuterie: Je ne savais pas qu’il était possible d’ajouter une minuterie visible à nos vidéos. J’utiliserai donc cette option pour les élèves l’an prochain. Je sais que les élèves apprécieront de savoir combien de temps ils leur restent, mais aussi, rendra plus facile le retour en arrière s’ils veulent retourner à une section précise.

Options d’édition: J’enregistre mes vidéos d’un seul coup habituellement. Si je n’aime pas le produit final, je ne fais que recommencer. Je vais par contre regarder les options d’édition qu’offre Screencastify. L’option de pouvoir enlever des parties du vidéo ou de zoomer sur une partie en particulier me semble intéressant lorsque je donne de la rétroaction ou lors de vidéo tutoriels. Je ne savais pas non plus qu’il était possible d’ajouter une vidéo dans une autre vidéo. Une autre possibilité à explorer.

Partager sur Google Classroom: dans une des vidéos du cours, Matt Miller nous explique comment partager les vidéos. Originalement, je pensais qu’il n’était possible que de partager sur Google Classroom à un groupe au complet, mais j’ai découvert qu’il est possible de partager avec un seul élève. Par le passé, je copiais le lien du vidéo dans les commentaires, mais plusieurs élèves me disaient ne pas trouver le vidéo. J’ai fait une vidéo pour l’expliquer, ce qui en a aidé quelques-uns, mais plusieurs me disaient toujours ne pas trouver les vidéos. L’an prochain ,j’utiliserai l’option de partager sur Google Classroom et j’assignerai la vidéo comme un devoir. De cette façon, le vidéo apparaitra dans le flux d’actualité et les élèves pourront cliquer pour dire qu’ils ont fait le  »devoir ».  

Changer les vidéos en GIF animés: J’adore les GIF animés et les trouvent très amusants. Ils peuvent aider à montrer quelque chose rapidement (où trouver un fichier ou où cliquer sur une page par exemple). Avec l’enregistrement de notre écran, il est possible de sauvegarder la vidéo sous forme d’image et ensuite de la partager. Pas besoin d’utiliser d’autres sites de création de GIF.

 Trucs et astuces: Si vous voulez enregistrer de nouveau votre vidéo, car vous avez fait une erreur, n’appuyez pas sur le bouton-stop, mais plutôt sur le bouton pour enregistrer de nouveau. Si vous appuyez sur stop, le vidéo se télécharge et vous devez ensuite aller effacer la vidéo dans vos fichiers.

Raccourcis clavier: Je vais certainement essayer plusieurs de ces raccourcis afin d’être plus rapide et plus efficace. Ceux-ci amélioreront également la qualité de mes vidéos puisque les élèves n’auront pas à regarder mon curseur se déplacer constamment!

Quelques-uns de mes coups de coeur:

  • Alt (option) + Z: pour effacer toutes les marques de crayons de seul coup.
  • Alt (option) + R: pour démarrer ou arrêter l’enregistrement
  • Alt (option) + T: pour cacher ou faire apparaitre la barre d’outils

Différentes façons d’utiliser Screencastify:

  • Des tutoriels (pratique pour les parents, les élèves et même les remplaçants!)
  •  Rétroaction vidéo (au lieu des marques rouges partout sur la page!).
  • Communication avec les parents (pour remplacer l’infolettre et les informer sur ce qui se passe en classe)
  • Développement professionnel (partagez votre expertise!)
  • Remplacer les présentations orales (les élèves créent un vidéo avec Google Slides ou un autre outil de présentation)
  • Vidéo de type Stop-Motion (avec Google Slides par exemple)
  • Réflexions vidéo (avec l’option webcam)
  • Visite guidée avec Google Street view
  • Ajout de vidéo à Flipgrid
  • Création de vidéo interactive avec Edpuzzle
  • Ajout de vidéo sur Seesaw.

Vous aimeriez suivre le cours et en apprendre plus?

https://www.screencastify.com/course/master-the-screencast/

Share Button

Flippity: un outil à découvrir

Flippity est gratuit et s’ajoute à Google Sheets. Vous pouvez le télécharger gratuitement ici.

Flippity

Cet ajout à Google Sheets (l’équivalent Google d’Excel) vous permet de créer toute sorte de jeu et d’outils bien pratiques. Simple à utiliser, il permet de partager également le document avec les élèves ou même de l’imprimer par la suite.

Quelques-uns de mes coups de coeur:

  • le jeu de pendu (Hangman) pour pratiquer le vocabulaire
  • les cartes d’études (Flashcards)
  • le jeu-questionnaire de type Jeopardy pour réviser de la matière avec les élèves de façon ludique
  • le Random Name Picker qui permet de sélectionner un élève de façon ludique aussi.
  • le Wordsearch et le Crossword qui permet la révision de vocabulaire sous forme de jeu ou encore d’inviter les élèves à créer des puzzles à partager.
  • le jeu de Bingo pour réviser le vocabulaire.

Vous n’avez pas besoin de connaissances en tableur pour utiliser l’outil. J’adore Google et Excel. Ils font peur, car on les associe aux mathématiques, aux chiffres et à la programmation, mais il ne faut pas! Les tableurs offrent des tonnes de possibilités, même pour les enseignants de langue seconde comme moi!

Share Button

Des émoticônes en classe?

Je n’ai pas pu assister à la présentation suivante à ISTE 2018 à Chicago, mais l’auteur du blogue a gentiment partagé sa présentation et ses trouvailles.

Je vous partage l’article ici, mais aussi ce que j’en retiens. Étant enseignante d’anglais langue seconde, je vois plein de possibilités, mais j’en vois aussi pour mes collègues des autres matières.

Mes coups de coeur:

https://emojiscavengerhunt.withgoogle.com/

Ce jeu qui se joue sur mobile demande aux élèves de trouver un article rapidement et de le montrer à la caméra. L’intelligence artificielle du jeu doit déterminer si l’article est le bon et montre l’émoticône en lien avec l’article. Le jeu est en anglais et donc une bonne façon de pratiquer le vocabulaire!

https://ifaketextmessage.com/

Ce site n’est pas nécessairement un site d’émoticône, mais offre de belles possibilités des utiliser. Il permet de créer une fausse conversation sur un mobile entre deux personnes et d’y ajouter des émoticônes. Je vois plein de possibilités en littérature en offrant la possibilité aux élèves de faire parler deux personnages ensemble. Les élèves pourraient aussi s’en servir en narration en ajoutant une touche techno à leurs histoires. Je vais aussi regarder comment m’en servir comme  »exit ticket » à la fin d’un cours en demandant aux élèves d’imaginer une conversation qui résume le cours qu’ils viennent de terminer.

http://byrdseed.com/emoji/

Ce site permet de générer des émoticônes qui serviront de base pour l’écriture d’une histoire. On peut générer jusqu’à 280 émoticônes. L’enseignant pourrait projeter le tout et demander aux élèves d’écrire ou chaque élève pourrait générer sa propre liste avant d’écrire.

https://emojitranslate.com/

Ce site permet d’écrire un texte en français ou en anglais et de voir son texte transformé avec l’ajout d’émoticônes. Les élèves pourraient envoyer cette version et voir si leur partenaire comprend leur message!

 

J’ai créé une petite présentation que j’utiliserai avec les élèves et je vous la partage ici. À noter que le texte n’est pas de moi, mais vient de l’article que j’ai cité à la dernière diapositive.

Share Button

Les zéros interdits: réflexion personnelle

Je suis tombée sur cet article d’un site super que tout enseignant devrait visiter: Edutopia

Edutopia avait partagé une question qui a suscité tout un débat sur les réseaux sociaux en demandant aux enseignants leur opinion de l’interdiction de mettre un zéro à un élève. C’est un débat bien présent au Québec également.  Certaines légendes urbaines disent que le programme du ministère interdit de mettre zéro ou encore que la note ne peut être plus basse qu’un certain chiffre qui semble changer selon la légende et cette idée dérange plusieurs enseignants. Plusieurs disent que nous créons une génération d’élèves paresseux et d’enfants rois.

Photo by David Pennington on Unsplash

Un zéro ne partait pas autant de débats quand j’étais jeune. En fait oui, un gros avec mes parents si j’en obtenais un, mais je ne me souviens pas d’avoir vu mes parents ou ceux de mes amis, appeler la direction d’école pour un zéro. Après tout, si un élève n’a pas effectué son travail, c’est mérité, non?

La première question qui me vient en tête c’est pourquoi évalue-t-on au juste? L’objectif d’une évaluation est de vérifier si l’élève a atteint les objectifs d’une tâche, développé une compétence ou acquis une connaissance enseignée.  La note elle-même est basée sur une grille d’évaluation et des critères qui se rapportent à des lettres ou des chiffres. Donner une note n’est pas une façon de punir pour un travail non fait… alors que doit-on faire lorsque le travail  n’est pas fait?

Lorsque j’ai commencé à enseigner, j’appliquais la même règle qui s’était appliquée à moi en tant qu’élève et je donnais des zéros…mais je ne me sentais pas toujours à l’aise avec ma décision. Il y avait toujours des exceptions où je me disais que de donner zéro dans ce cas précis n’était pas très  »humain ». J’ai vu des élèves vivre des moments très difficiles dans leur milieu familial, vu des élèves avoir à témoigner contre un parent en court alors qu’un travail était à remettre le lendemain.  J’ai vu des élèves combattre des dépressions et ne pas du tout avoir la tête à faire le travail demandé… Un adulte avec les mêmes problématiques aurait demandé un congé de maladie du travail, mais ces élèves se présentaient à l’école, combattaient la dépression ou l’anxiété qui les habitaient et devaient performer à l’école. On ne demanderait pas la même chose d’un adulte. Celui-ci aurait un billet de médecin et, si la loi est bien respectée et la compassion présente, ne serait pas sanctionné à son travail. Mais il est acceptable de pénaliser un élève dans le même cas?

Bien sûr, l’argument de ce qui est équitable est bien présent dans les débats. Si les autres élèves ont dû faire le travail et le remettre à temps, en quoi est-ce juste et équitable de donner plus de chance à un élève ? À cet argument je réponds: est-ce que c’est équitable que cet élève vive avec ces problématiques alors que l’autre non? Les élèves ne sont pas la somme de travaux remis ou d’examen remplis. Les élèves sont des enfants et des adolescents en développement. Si une compétence n’est pas acquise, l’enseignant doit chercher des façons d’aider l’élève du mieux qu’il peut.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Il peut être très frustrant lorsqu’un élève a le potentiel et est capable de faire la tâche, mais ne la fait pas. C’est alors que devraient se mettre en place d’autres mécanismes… mais un zéro comme punition? Ce qui est juste n’est pas tout blanc, tout noir dans bien des cas!

Dans mes cours d’anglais langue seconde, j’ai des élèves qui arrivent déjà bilingues. Ils ont des parents qui parlent anglais ou de la famille aux États-Unis ou en Ontario et mon cours d’anglais et facile pour eux. Est-ce que je devrais leur donner zéro s’ils n’effectuent pas un travail? Est-ce que ce serait représentatif de leur compétence en anglais? Ou est-ce je devrais regarder ma propre pédagogie et voir comment je peux différencier la tâche pour les motiver?

J’aime beaucoup la citation à la fin de l’article d’Édutopia, elle me parle beaucoup. J’enseigne à des humains après tout! Je n’enseigne pas du contenu ou même de l’anglais langue seconde vraiment… J’enseigne à des élèves et je veux qu’ils aiment ce que je leur enseigne. Je veux qu’ils vivent des success! Donner un zéro? C’est possible, mais j’espère que c’est un dernier recours!

“If you hand me an essay that’s really lousy, do I say ‘F, do better next time,’ or do I say ‘I’m not going to grade this. I expect a much higher quality of work from you. I wrote comments on it. Come to my room at lunchtime, and we’re going to work on it together, and then I need you to turn it in next week’,” Duncan said.

Share Button

Découverte ISTE: Factitious

http://factitious.augamestudio.com/#/

Lors du congrès ISTE 2018 à Chicago, j’ai découvert un petit site tout simple qui enseigne aux élèves à reconnaître les  »fake news ». Le principe du site est très simple: l’élève doit voter, après lecture d’un texte et consultation des sources, si un texte est véridique ou non.

Étant enseignante d’anglais langue seconde, j’y vois une tonne de possibilités. Il serait possible de projeter le texte, le lire avec les élèves et passer au vote en tant que classe. Avec plusieurs appareils, les élèves pourraient travailler en équipe et ainsi discuter et négocier jusqu’à consensus ou les élèves pourraient y travailler de façon individuelle. Puisque le jeu est directement en ligne, il fonctionne avec tous les appareils. Une belle façon d’aider les élèves en lecture, mais aussi à acquérir des compétences du 21e siècle en utilisant leur esprit critique!

Share Button